I Guess I’m Back?

It’s been a while.

I haven’t written in a long, long, time – partly because I didn’t know what to write about, and partly because I was focusing my efforts and my time on learning new skills.

I didn’t want to continue with the “Conversations With Hatta…” series because Hatta had begun to string words together and properly talk (I use the word “properly” here very loosely). Somehow I felt “Conversations” would be less funny if I were to merely transcribe the things he says. He is now at an age where his vocabulary is expanding, and every other day or so, he surprises us with his ability to string words together and communicate. Writing “Conversations” was fun because I had the artistic liberty to put words in his mouth, and give him the sarcasm and scepticism of an adult. It’s a bit more difficult to do that now, because the humour that comes with his communication skills these days is of the kind that can only be appreciated if you were there to hear it, or see it for the first time.

img_3127

My full time gig. His superpower is being able to make any task (including writing this blog post) ten times longer to complete.

The other reason for my prolonged hiatus in writing was a couple of new skills I’d picked up. I discovered the joys of watercolour painting, and soon after, the world of surface pattern design. I was focusing what spare time I had towards these two areas, and I intend to continue to do so for as long as I can.

As a result, this blog was left by the wayside and before I knew it, a year had passed.

And then the urge to write slowly came back.

We went on holiday last month, and for the first time in years, I took out my camera and brought it on the trip with me. I realised that I missed using it. I missed taking photographs, and I missed writing.

So I guess I’m back? I don’t know. I felt like writing something, so here it is.

I feel like going through my photos, editing them, and posting them here with an accompanying blog post, so maybe I’ll do that soon.

And from there? I don’t know yet. My full time gig is still taking care of a chatty, active, two-year old (OMG why can’t he stop talking), and I’d like to continue on my watercolour/surface pattern design journey. In between all that, every once in a while, I’d like to drop by here as well. Hopefully.

So here’s to 2019!

Leave a comment